It has been a while, since I started to ask myself. How I can contribute to make this planet a better place and still don’t find the answer.

There are many causes to fight out there. Last week I watched this video that left a trace on my heart. It is a rare footage of the extinction of some wildlife animals. This video shows how this wonderful creatures disappeared in the last 50 years because of human activity. Then, I took a look to the WWF’s Living Planet Report 2016 report that explains in detail how two-thirds of wildlife animals could be extinct by 2020.

At the same time, the idea about sharing a passion with a blog have been around for a while, from arts to books and nature. Then one night, the ideas just merged in a single one. How can I contribute to a better world for my kids and future generations?, the sense of urgency and the help of Mark Twain’s quote: «The secret of getting ahead is getting started”.

Suddenly, the need to start writing and share just comes out. I decided to create EMK “Everyone Must know” blog to share fears, thoughts, and ideas. Maybe we will find ways to add a grain of sand to some ending that looks evident.

When I see the eyes of my 2 years old sparking with wonder with the picture of an elephant or trying to imitate the grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr of the lion. I believe there is a hope for us, for future generations and for our mother nature.

I am not a guru or an activist. I am a working mother, who spend a lot of time in the office. I didn’t have the change to grow in the farm close to the nature. I grew in a big city, living in downtown.  I spent a lot of time with my brother playing in the hall of our flat, because the street was dangerous. Living in a big city with more than 7 million people.

I know this is part of the problem.  Many of us  had growth in cities, seeing nature and animals in movies, in magazines, in books. There are some moments, when we believed is just science fiction.

Sometimes, we were luckier when our parents decided to bring us to the zoo. A place where we can see these beautiful creatures for real but not in their natural environment. For some of us, they are invisible creatures who live somewhere in this planet.

Now, I am having a hard time to accept that these places would be in the future, the only places where my kids can see the beauty of nature.

Yet, I am optimistic for our future. I want my kids to understand the importance of living in peace with other creatures. A place where people and nature can coexist in harmony.  I want them to have the opportunity to see a real elephant, a real rhino, a real lion. I want them to understand that we own respect to this wonderful place “our planet”.

This blog is built with hope. Hope in the future we can build together and hope to find different ways to add a grain of sand to this challenge.

Let’s build together our future, our grains of sand can have a big impact for us and our kids. This is not just the issue of scientists, or experts, or governments, or activists.  It is also a shift in mentality to start individually and collectively to take some actions across the world.

Let’s spread the word on all EMK “Everyone Must Know ” items. We will build together the list of topics and create our own way .

Let’s find together our role in the big picture. The urgency and the hope are there!

 

